“It’s Both What You Know and Who You Know”

Network… network…network! It’s important to be knowledgeable about your area of expertise. Sports hosts and play-by-play announcers posses a great wealth of sports knowledge. It’s almost impossible to be in the profession and succeed without a wide range of intelligence in most sports. That being said, it also comes down to who you know! It can be the break you need to jump start your career. Here is a website I found called “Skills for Sports Broadcasting” that will help re-emphasize my points. It talks about sports knowledge, communication skills and how to better develop your contacts.

Forming relationships with professionals through social media is also very important.  I heavily use LinkedIn and Twitter. They are two great sources to connect with professionals. LinkedIn is a phenomenal way to sell yourself and get your name out there. You need to be agressive and persistent when connecting with others. I have been fortunate enough to pick the brains of several different employees at ESPN in Bristol. That’s how powerful this platform can be if you use it correctly. If you don’t have an account, you need to get one. Before getting hired employers will look to see if you have LinkedIn. Trust me, I have been told that they do! I want you guys to look at my page to better understand what I am talking about. Here is a link to LinkedIn page. I currently have 208 connections and I am trying to increase that number all the time! What’s also important is that once you do connect with a professional you STAY IN TOUCH! Many people connect once and then that’s it. That will not help you. Establishing a relationship is important because if they like you who knows what could happen! Here is an article called “The Importance of LinkedIn” that discusses ways to leverage LinkedIn, building your network and integration.

Twitter is much of the same. You want to keep your page professional along with what you say. You want to stand out in a positive light and outshine everyone else. The way you do that is by taking it to another level. I followed an ESPN recruiter and she followed me back. I picked her brain for awhile and thanked her for her time. I even sent her a thank you card. She later responded and thanked me. I am sure she was both shocked and impressed. Nothing has yet come from it, but the little things can make a difference. I am also going to attach a link to my Twitter account.

I found another article called “How to become a Sports Broadcaster” that talks about developing certain skills, along with relationships and how to better build your network.

I hope this helps get you once step closer to achieving your dream!

One thought on ““It’s Both What You Know and Who You Know”

  1. Great links! They are really helpful and explain your information more! I agree that Linkedin is really beneficial to your career and can help you get connected with the professional world.

Leave a Reply

